Many of Britain’s Historic Counties have existed for more than 1,000 years, yet, particularly in the last 50, this existence has been blurred and confused.

The current confusion stems from the fact that there are currently THREE different definitions of ‘county’ in law:

  1. Counties defined by the Local Government Act 1972 and used for administrative purposes
  2. Ceremonial counties, as defined by the Lieutenancies Act 1997, refer to the areas relating to the Lord-lieutenants (the monarch’s representatives across the country)
  3. Historic counties, which are geographical boundaries that date back over many centuries

We therefore campaign for:

  1. ‘County’ to be removed from local council admin area names
  2. Ceremonial counties realigned to match traditional counties
  3. Acceptance that #HistoricCounties are the only true counties – that is geographical areas, unrelated to councils

Let’s rescue Britain’s historic counties before it’s too late.

Our Three Simple Objectives:

✅ Maps and roads to include historic counties as standard

✅ End the use of ’county’ in admin area names

✅ ‘Ceremonial counties’ realigned to match traditional counties

What We Do

Our campaign is focused on parliamentary lobbying to bring about legislative change, recognising the continuing existence of our Historic Counties, whose importance has been assured by Governments (across the political spectrum) many times over the years.

The 92 Historic Counties of the United Kingdom

Official Statements on Historic Counties

“The new county boundaries are administrative areas, and will not alter the traditional boundaries of counties.”

Government Statement
1 April 1974

“Today, we formally acknowledge the continuing role of our traditional counties in England’s public and cultural life.”

Eric Pickles MP, Communities Secretary – 23 April 2013

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Success! You're on the list.